I Love Music: My Favourite Songs By Female Rappers.

 

Cold_Rock_a_Party
MC Lyte. Image: wikipedia.

What makes a good Rap Song? I would say it would be a mix of the following:

1. Intelligent lyrics and word play.
2. Bragging.
3. A catchy beat.
4. Bragging.
5. Lots of talk about bling.
6. Bragging.
7. Sending threatening words to real or imagined haters.
8. Bragging.
9. Innuendo/Double entendres/Vulgar lyrics for no good reason.
10. Bragging.

 

Choosing my favourite song by a female rapper would be based on whether it meets the above criteria and if I would listen to it over and over again.

 

My favourite song would be a tough choice between ‘Lick Shots’ by Missy Elliot or ‘Keep On Keepin’ On‘ by MC Lyte or ‘Keep It Movin‘ by MC Lyte or ‘Lost Ones’ by Lauryn Hill or ‘No Matter What They Say’ by Lil’ Kim. I also don’t mind a trap beat once in a while (hello, ‘Bodak Yellow’ by Cardi B’).

 

Here are a few of my favourite songs my female rappers:

 

MC Lyte:

-Keep On Keeping On.

-Cold Rock A Party.

-Keep It Movin’.

 

Lauryn Hill:

-Lost Ones.

-Doo Wop (That Thing).

 

Lil’ Kim:

-No Matter What They Say.

 

Da Brat:

-Give It 2 You.

-That’s What I’m Looking For.

-What’Chu Like.

 

Missy Elliot:

-The Rain.

-Work It.

-She’s A Bitch.

-Get Your Freak On.

-Lick Shots.

-I’m Really Hot.

 

Salt N Pepa:

–What A Man.

-Push It.

-Shoop.

-Let’s Talk About Sex.

 

Angie Martinez, Lil’ Kim, Da Brat, Left Eye, Missy Elliot-Ladies Night (Remix).

MC Lyte, YoYo, Queen Latifah (with Brandy)-I Wanna Be Down (Remix).

Foxy Brown:

-Get You Home.

-I Can’t.

 

Nicki Minaj (with Beyonce)-Feeling Myself.

Cardi B-Bodak Yellow.

Remy Ma-Shether.

Nonchalant-5 ‘0’ Clock.

Queen Latifah-Fly Girl.

Eve:

-What You Want.

-Blow Your Mind (with Gwen Stephanie).

 

Rah Digga-Imperial.

 

What’s your favourite song by a female rapper?

 

Thanks for reading!

 

Ivie.

 

Leave a Reply

