#FeatureFriday – 5 Lessons I Learned From My Secondary School Days

Hello, Everyone!

The good people at the Sparkle Writers Hub shared my article, ‘5 Lessons I Learned From My Secondary School Days’.

Happy reading, and have a great weekend!

Ivie.

thesparklewritershub

I attended secondary school in Lagos, Nigeria in the 1990s. I have chosen to have very selective memories about my time there, so I dwell more on the memories of shared laughter and on the friends I made who I am still in touch with presently.

I will not dwell on the cutting of grass, the times I spent kneeling down for hours as punishment, nor on that senior girl who kept making me fetch water for her in her gigantic metal bucket which had no handle (I still remember her name).

No, I will not dwell on the negative memories.

Here are some lessons which I learned in secondary school which I have found to be relevant in my life as an adult:

Provision scarcity creates strange bedfellows.

I usually showed up to school with 1 ½-2 sets of provisions at the beginning of every term. You would have…

View original post 691 more words

Leave a Reply

