I Love Makeup, Yes I Do!

 

In the last year or two, I have undergone a makeup renaissance. It must have been after my usual struggle to define my unruly eyebrows. I went to the one place where I knew I could get answers to my makeup questions.

 

Youtube!

 

Since then, I have gone from being generally indifferent towards makeup and not knowing what a concealer was, to being quite apt at putting on makeup.

 

Makeup makes me so happy. I love the process. I love the makeup tutorials. I love the makeup swatch videos. I love the makeup decluttering and organization videos. I love the first impressions videos. I love the one brand tutorials. I love the half-face makeup dupe tutorials. I love the try on and review tutorials.

 

I love makeup related activities.
My makeup collection has grown from a handful of items to a respectable collection of brushes, eyeshadows, eyeshadow palettes, lipsticks, lip glosses, foundations, loose powders, eyebrow pomades, concealers, eyeshadow sticks, blushes, highlighters, and so on.

 

I can look at a brush now and tell you the best way to use it on the face, or which brush is better for packing on eyeshadow or which other one is better for blending eyeshadow. I can tell you that shimmery colours look better on my lids and matte colours look better in my crease. I can tell you that I have hooded eyes, so I have to learn how to maximize my small lid space for maximum impact.

 

Can you tell how much I love makeup?

 

lipsticks pinterest
A sight for sore eyes! photo: pinterest.com

 

 

There’s also another reason why I love makeup: I love the feeling of anticipation when I place a makeup order.

 

In a recent writing tutorial which I took, it was mentioned that continuously asking ‘Why?’ is a great way of getting deeper into the reasons for a character’s actions.

 

So, let me ask myself a series of ‘Whys’ regarding my love for makeup.

 

Why do I like buying makeup? It gives me joy and a sense of expectation.

 

Why do I look forward to this sense of expectation? I guess it’s because without it, my life would be routine and not very interesting.

 

Why do you see your life as routine and not very interesting? My major daily activities are going to work, and writing. Writing is generally a solitary activity for me.

 

Why do you focus on just these activities? I don’t have a lot of friends, so I focus on things which I can do to be happy on my own, such as writing or reading.

 

Why don’t I have a lot of friends? I have had very bad experiences in the past, so I tend to be very wary about whom I get close to.

 

Wow. That went from lighthearted to intense after a few questions.

 

Ultimately, so far as I am not running into debt, exhausting my savings or selling my soul for eyeshadow money, I think I am very comfortable with my increased level of interest in makeup!

 

My favourite Makeup Youtubers are:

Dimma Umeh.

MakeupShayla.

Jamie Paige.

Jackie Aina.

Casey Holmes.

Andrea Matillano.

Kathleen lights.

DramaticMac.

Bailey B.

 

Are you a fan of makeup? Please let me know in the comments below!

 
Written by
©Ivie M. Eke 2017.

4 Comments

  1. I love makeup too.
    I also dont have a lot of friends because of previous bad experiences with some of them.
    I like many aspects of makeup especially the brows, eyeshadow, powder/foundation and lipstick. I’m not really a fan of blush.
    Good wrote up you have hear. I hope to see more of this.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

