I LOVE MUSIC: THE MYA EDITION.

 

e875d44a4a0b330c40b110b9bda7d0aa-600x600x1

Mya Harrison. Photo: genius.com

 

Mya Harrison (popularly known simply as Mya) is an American RnB singer.

Mya is one of my favourite RnB singers and I really enjoy her music which was popular in the late 1990s to the early 2000s.

One of her most memorable music videos is for her song, ‘Case of the ex’ which was released in the year 2000. The video had everything I needed from a Music/Rnb video:

Catchy lyrics? Yes.

Sweet vocals? Yes.

Choreographed dancing in the desert? Yes.

Did I ever question why Mya was confronting her music video boyfriend about his ex-girlfriend in the desert? No, I did not.

She has several other songs which I enjoy but I noticed that I did not hear much about Mya for years until I watched a video recently where she explained her absence from the music scene.

I would describe her vocals as very sweet and soothing with an attitude. She is also a great dancer, and her uptempo songs usually have energetic dance routines. I hope she continues to bring out good music.

Here are a few of my favourite Mya songs:

Ghetto Superstar (with Pras and Ol’ Dirty Bastard).

Take Me There (with Blackstreet and Mase).

Free.

Case of the ex.

Lady Marmalade (with Pink, Lil Kim and Christina Aguilera).

My love is like…wo.

Falling.

The best of me.

 

Are there any Mya fans out there? Please let me know in the comments!

***All videos are from youtube***

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

