How Can I Move?

How can I move

How can I breathe

When he takes my heart with him

Every time he leaves?

 

I feel it in my lungs,

My mind turns to mush,

The feeling of dejection comes at me,

In a very big rush.

 

I will endure,

So that when he returns,

I will take my heart from him,

Step out of the door and run.

 

He will try to give chase

Waving empty promises,

But I will find love elsewhere,

I will be someone else’s Mrs.

 

Written By

©Ivie M. Eke 2016

 

P.S. I sent the first verse of this poem to stylist.co.uk as an entry for last year’s #postapoem week and they were kind enough to feature it as one of their entries! You can view it here.

Leave a Reply

