I Love Music: The Mariah Carey Edition.

 

hqdefault
Photo: youtube.com

 

I am a big fan of Mariah Carey’s music.

 

I have been enjoying her music for more than twenty years (it’s a mind-boggling fact to realize!).

 

Even though I have enjoyed listening to her more recent songs (e.g. #Beautiful featuring Miguel), my focus is often on her music from the early 1990s through to the late 2000s.

 

Thinking about Mariah Carey’s songs often takes me on a journey down memory lane:

 

‘Vision of love’ and ‘Anytime you need a friend’ remind me of watching MTV in Lagos in the early 1990s.

 

‘Always be my baby’, ‘Honey’ and ‘Fantasy’ remind me of secondary school, when I listened to music on the radio or went for the school social nights which were brimming with fun and hormones.

 

‘Breakdown’ reminds me of waiting to get admission into the University and wondering what my future would be.

 

Mariah Carey is a treasure and her music will always have a special place in my heart.

 

I really enjoy her ballads, but my favourite Mariah Carey songs are actually her Hip Hop collaborations, my favourite being ‘Breakdown’ featuring Bone Thugs-n-Harmony

 

If I had to pick my top 10 Mariah Carey songs, they would be (in no particular order):

Heartbreaker (feat. Jay Z).

Without you.

Whenever you call (feat. Wanye Morris).

We belong together.

Emotions.

Breakdown (feat. bone Thugs-n-Harmony).

Shake it off.

Sweetheart (feat. Jermaine Dupri).

Against the odds (feat. Westlife).

Thank God I found you (with Joe and Nas).

 

Are there any Mariah Carey fans out there? Let me know in the comments!

 

Ivie.

Leave a Reply

