I Love Music: The Al Green/Teddy Pendergrass Edition.

al green
Al Green. photo: pitchfork.com

The music of The Reverend Al Green and Teddy Pendergrass (March 26, 1950 – January 13, 2010) are staples of any good ‘Old School’ RnB collection. Their vocals and sultry lyrics are embodiments of what RnB music represents-smooth music for chilling out, expressing deep passions, and ‘making babies’.

teddy pendergrass
Teddy Pendergrass. photo: amazon.com

Their songs, though very popular in the seventies and eighties, are still very relevant and appealing to present-day listening. I cannot say that I have great knowledge of their bodies of work, but I do have some favourites of their music which I will list below.

Please sit back, relax and enjoy the dulcet tones of their musical talent:

Teddy Pendergrass:

Love T.K.O.

When somebody loves you back.

 

Al Green:

Here I am (Come and take me).

Simply beautiful.

Let’s stay together.

I’m so tired of being alone.

Love and happiness.

 

P.S Teddy Pendergrass’ beard game was awesome!

***All videos are from http://www.youtube.com***

 

 

Leave a Reply

