I Love Music: The Puff Daddy/Puffy/P.Diddy/Diddy Edition.

puff daddy
Puff Daddy-with The Notorious B.I.G. Photo: weheartit.com
Before I talk about the music of Sean ‘Diddy’ Combs, I have to stay that I am so impressed that he continues to remain relevant as a business man and music mogul.

So that I don’t get confused, I will just call him Puffy for the duration of this write-up.

Puffy’s music came into my life in the late 1990s in what I would describe as my music-awareness phase. As a teenager in secondary school, and with the emergence of new radio stations in Lagos, I was exposed to the musical stylings of Puffy and the Bad Boy family-which included The Notorious B.I.G., Lil Kim, Mase, 112, Carl Thomas, and so on.

I loved the bravado Puffy displayed in his rap lyrics, hinting at cars, haters and wealth which may or may not have been a figment of his imagination. His music videos were fun and colourful, in which he incorporated lots of ‘bling’ and questionable dance steps.

The period between 1996 and 2000 was the era which I can say was classic Puffy. He knew exactly how to sample from older music, which he made commercial and relevant to the time.

I will continue to enjoy that golden era (in my opinion) of Puffy’s music.

Some of my favourite Puffy songs:

I’ll be missing you (Feat. Faith Evans & 112).

Can’t hold me down (Feat. Mase).

Mo Money Mo Problems (with Mase & the Notorious B.I.G.).

Been around the world.

Bad boys for life.

I need a girl.

I need a girl-part 2 (with Ginuwine, Loon & Mario Winans).

It’s all about the Benjamins (with The Notorious B.I.G., The LOX & Lil’ Kim).

Satisfy you (Feat. R.Kelly).

Hate me now (Nas Feat. Puff Daddy).

***www.youtube.com***

 

Leave a Reply

