I Love Music: The ‘Graceland’ by Paul Simon Edition.

Graceland_cover_-_Paul_Simon

Photo: wikepedia.org

‘Graceland’ is an album released by the American singer, Paul Simon in 1986.

Growing up in the eighties which was loud with Rap music, the Graceland album was a breath of fresh air. My mother bought the record as well as the video cassette recording. My brothers and I would spend Saturdays with her seated in front of the TV, singing along to the lyrics.

As an adult, I have come to appreciate the quality of this album, with its lyrics, melodies and wonderful use of instruments, fusing blues, jazz and African sounds.

Graceland also featured legendary artistes, including Hugh Masekela, Miriam Makeba and Ladysmith Black Mambazo.

My favourite song is ‘Graceland’, because it has some of my favourite lines:

‘The Mississippi Delta was shining like a national guitar’.

‘But I have reason to believe, we both will be received in Graceland’.

‘And she said losing love is like a window in your heart, everybody sees you’re blown apart, everybody sees the wind blow’.

Beautiful.

I’ve listed a few of my favourite songs from the album below:

I know what I know.

Graceland.

Crazy Love.

Diamonds on the soles of her shoes.

***All videos are from youtube.com***

 

 

Leave a Reply

