Single.

single

Photo: wehearit.com

It does not mean emptiness.

It does not mean dirt.

It does not mean worthless.

It does not mean foolish.

It does not mean powerless.

It does not mean lack of self-esteem.

It does not mean slave.

You look at me, with your watery eyes and lingering gaze.

You notice that I am not wearing a wedding ring.

You swallow some saliva when I tell you that I am not in a relationship.

You offer me a bag, which contains nothing but hot air.

You search my eyes, looking for a broken woman, but you find a strong one instead.

You get offended when I do not dance to your tune.

Why would I?

Your song sounds like gravel being poured into my ears.

Your hands offer nothing but wasted touches, and empty embraces.

What would I gain from walking into the darkness of your empty words, and leaving behind the light of my single soul?

Let me be.

I am not cursed.

I am not weak.

I am not worthless.

I am not less than human.

I am single.

 

©Ivie M. Eke 2016

 

2 thoughts on “Single.

Leave a Reply

