I Love Music: The Jay-Z Edition.

56702320ba55400920789e6e367e956c.220x220x1

Jay-Z. Photo: genius.com

Let’s take a break from talking about ‘Becky with the good hair’ and focus on Jay-Z, the Rapper.

I was first aware of Jay-Z (born Shawn Carter) when I heard his song ‘Can’t Knock The Hustle (feat. Mary J. Blige)’ which was released way back in 1996 (yes-twenty years ago! Now I feel old).

I have always enjoyed his artistry, his talent and his cool personality.

Please enjoy the poem below which I wrote using some of his song titles (the song titles are in bold lettering).

***

His whole life has been about girls, girls, girls.

They keep chasing him, yelling ‘Izzo’ and ‘Hey Papi’.

They always chant ‘Jigga What, Jigga Who!’

He once stopped one of them and said, ‘Excuse me Miss’,

‘You know that I just wanna love U’.

‘As you can see, money ain’t a thing to me’.

‘Would you like some lobster and shrimp? Please, help yourself’.

‘There’s no need for frontin’ baby’.

‘Believe me hun, I’ve lived a hard knock life’.

‘My life has been tough-the story would make a song cry’.

‘Right now, I feel like I’ve found my holy grail’.

‘So show me what you got, maybe I’ll take you big pimpin’ with my homeboys in Paris’.

‘If we have fun, maybe we could do it again’.

‘I’ll show you that you can’t knock the hustle’.

Even when you have 99 problems, just shrug and brush that dirt of your shoulders’. 

©Ivie M. Eke 2016.

***All videos are from youtube.com***

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

