It’s Not Me, It’s You/It’s Not You, It’s Me.

Photo: weheartit.com


It’s Not Me, It’s You.  

It’s in the way that you annoy me with your words, 

And how you prance around like you are a Lord. 

 

It’s in the way that you bore me with your dry jokes, 

And how you make me think that your love for me is a hoax. 

 

It’s in the way that I ponder about the thoughts going on in your head, 

And how you carry on about how you could have any woman but me instead. 

 

It’s in the way that your cruelty cuts me deeply like a knife, 

And how our conversations are always so full of strife. 

 

It’s in the way you ignore me, like being with me is a chore, 

And how you say that you’re not even sure you love me anymore. 

 

It’s in the way that you break my heart without a blink of an eye, 

And how I must guess from your absence, that our love has said goodbye.  

 

 

  It’s Not You, It’s Me. 

 I never gave my heart to you in full, 

And you always felt that I was always playing it cool. 

 

I was full of mood swings and varying temperaments, 

And you always felt that I was detached and ambivalent. 

 

I tried too hard to please you with my words, 

And you sensed the excessive effort, and immediately grew bored. 

 

I was resistant to change and sometimes really stubborn, 

And the effort to change me left you feeling so forlorn. 

 

I wanted you to love me, yet I kept pushing you away, 

And you endured but after a while, you decided that you could no longer stay. 

©Ivie M. Eke 2016.

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

