I Love Music: The Hip Hop Edition.

 

220px-DoforLove

Tupac Shakur. Photo: Wikipedia.org

I love Hip Hop music because I love storytelling in music. I love intelligent play on words with a heavy baseline in the background.

If you walk past and see me with earphones on, looking very calm, you might be shocked to find out that I’m listening to Kanye West as he shouts in my ears.

Hip Hop music is generally a problematic genre: the misogyny, the arrogance, the often violent and unnecessarily vulgar lyrics and its celebration of a superficial lifestyle.

I don’t let these issues faze me though. I just focus on the talent and artistry and ignore the negative aspects.

Whether the theme of the song is dissatisfaction and frustration with a political or social system, or just plain annoyance that you, the listener, doesn’t know how awesome the artiste is, Hip Hop music remains a great medium for creativity and self-expression.

Some of my favourite lines from Hip Hop songs include:

‘I make Black History everyday, I don’t need a month!’-Kanye West. Song: Brand new.

‘Why be a king when you can be a god?’-Eminem. Song: Rap god.

‘If I was you, I’d hate me too’-Lil’ Kim. Song: No matter what they say.

Here’s a list of few of my favourite Hip Hop songs (in no particular order):

Eminem: Rap god.

Dr. Dre feat. Eminem: Forgot about Dre.

Kanye West: Heard ‘Em say.

Kanye West: Slow jam.

The Notorious B.I.G-Hypnotize

Rhymefest feat. Kanye West: Brand new.

The Roots feat. Amel Larrieux: Glitches.

The Fugees: Ready or not.

Jay Z: Big Pimpin’

Tupac Shakur-Do for love.

Pharrell Williams feat. Snoop Dogg: Drop it like it’s hot.

Lil Kim: No matter what they say.

Kanye West and Jay Z: Niggas in Paris.

Tupac Shakur: That’s just the way it is.

Common-Come close.

Kendrick Lamar: Alright.

Kendrick Lamar feat. Drake: Poetic Justice.

Drake: Worst Behaviour.

Da Brat: Give it to you.

Westside Connection: Bow down.

MC Lyte: Keep on keeping on.

Lauryn Hill: Lost ones.

Mobb Deep: Quiet storm.

DMX: Ruff Ryders Anthem.

Outcast: So fresh, so clean.

Nate Dogg and Warren G: Regulate.

Nonchalant: 5’o’clock.

Brandy – I Wanna Be Down (Remix) (feat. Mc Lyte, YoYo & Queen Latifah)

***All videos are from http://www.youtube.com***

Do you like Hip Hop music? If yes, what’s your favourite Hip Hop song?

Leave a Reply

