Two Poems About My Love For Books.

Hello everyone,

Please see the two poems below which I read at the Book Swap Event in Abuja this week. I hope you enjoy them!

a journey of a lifetime

Photo:weheartit.com

A Journey Of A Lifetime

Give me a book,

So that I can see the world.

I want to go on a journey,

Without leaving my home.

Let each page I turn surprise me.

I want to know what people are thinking about.

I want to feel a wave of emotions

With each completed paragraph.

Let the words make my heart soar with joy, or beat faster with trepidation, or beat slowly with sadness,

I want to explore the world,

I want relatable stories or implausible scenarios,

Give me life,

Give me a book,

And I will be a forever traveler,

On a journey

Which I would never want to come to an end.

Give me joy.

Give me a book.
***

fun. wehearit

Photo: weheartit.com

My Book, My Best Friend.

There might be no electricity to light up my TV screen,
But a book,
A book would always light up my imagination.

 

The walk to school might be long, and the path full of stones,
But a book,
A book would always clear my mind and inspire me.

 

There might be a shortage of water, and I would have to take my bucket to the communal tap,
But a book,
A book would always quench my thirst for adventure and escapades.

 

There might be friends, who tease me and even say unkind things to me,
But a book,
A book would always comfort me and put a smile on my face.

 

There might be times when living in my country would make me feel sad and dampen my spirits,
But a book,
A book would always lift up my heart and make me hopeful for the future.

 

Both poems written by
©Ivie M. Eke 2016.

6 thoughts on “Two Poems About My Love For Books.

  1. Both poems express your absolute love for reading, but in addition, the second poem also highlights the daily rigours of life in an underdeveloped country. I love them

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: 3 Topics Which Inspire My Writing Process. – Classically Ivy

  3. Pingback: 3 Topics Which Inspire My Writing Process. – Classically Ivy

Leave a Reply

