This relationship is just a long Aaliyah song…

aaliyah genius
Aaliyah. photo: genius.com
Aaliyah Dana Haughton (1979-2001).

RnB Singer.

I have been a fan of Aaliyah’s music for for over twenty years, and even though she has passed away, I can say that her music lives on.

Out of boredom recently, I tried to see if I could name up to ten Aaliyah songs, and from there I came up with this poem. The Aaliyah song titles are in bold lettering. Enjoy!

***

I keep asking myself, ‘Are you that somebody?’

I keep thinking, ‘How could the one I gave my heart to treat me this way?’

We just keep going back and forth.

The fact is that your love is one in a million,

Which is why I feel that we should try again,

To move this relationship forward, we need a resolution.

But if you don’t agree, I wouldn’t want to rock the boat.

I am more than you will ever need; I am more than a woman.

And, even though I miss you sometimes,

If this goes on, definitely, you won’t see me tonight.

RIP Aaliyah.

Aaliyah-MissYouCDSingle
Aaliyah. photo: hitfix.com
©Ivie M. Eke 2016

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 Comments

  1. I love you Aaliyah, I bought your album back then (okay, it was the DJ Kev D Big Boss Jiggaman pirated version they sold in the market, but I had good intentions) Rest in Peace, dear, your spirit lives on in your songs

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I recently had her song rock the beat in my post! It’s a awesome artist.
    Definitly! I Really wanna know how she will be today. She will definitly had more great songs. But we will never know…
    I still listen to her songs! Ohww yesss!💯💯💯
    Hugz, Miss B.💋

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

