Working-Class Lady

working class lady

I look up.

I stare at the clock and notice the time;

It’s time to go home.

 

I stretch my back.

I let out a huge sigh.

‘What a relief’, I think.

‘I made it through another day’.

 

I stand up.

No matter if the day was calm or hectic, serene or chaotic,

Work always leaves me fatigued.

 

I get home.

I slip my feet out my shoes-what a blissful feeling.

Even the most comfortable shoes are a pleasure to discard after hours of wear.

 

I sit down.

I take deep breaths,

To relieve the physical and mental tension built up in my body.

 

I close my eyes.

I envision today’s challenges melting away.

I hope for wisdom to face what will come tomorrow.

 

I open my eyes.

I am relaxed.

Tomorrow is another day; I will tackle it with ease.

 

©Ivie M. Eke 2016

Photo: weheartit.com

Leave a Reply

