Walk-Jog-Walk-Jog.

image1
My Saturday morning routine is a self-imposed one.

I roll out of bed and put my exercise kit on.

So that I can make an effort to be as healthy as I possibly can.

By taking a brisk walk, or even make the effort to run.

I set off very early so I can avoid the morning sun.

Sometimes I put in too much effort and feel an uncomfortable burn.

I often see other people, running and walking at every turn.

Why are the things required to be healthy not always fun?

Often we wouldn’t make the effort to exercise unless someone pointed a gun.

But we must try to make the effort; it’s not something we should shun.

So that we won’t collapse before our time and find ourselves in an urn.

And instead of being celebrated, people would gather around to mourn.

For a life that ended abruptly, before it had even begun.

©Ivie M. Eke 2015

2 thoughts on “Walk-Jog-Walk-Jog.

  1. Hiya, I’m really struggling this morning and having a debate with myself as to why I should not go to the gym this morning but ….. It has to be done. Enjoy your walk and jog (thanks for your encouraging message Ivie) . Enjoy your weekend and be happy 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

