Musical Memories.

I’ve realized that I can often link music I hear to certain periods of my life:

The Carpenters. photo: sheetmusicplus.com
The Carpenters. photo: sheetmusicplus.com

‘Rainy Days and Mondays’ by The Carpenters-reminds me of Christmas time as a child, when my mum would bake cookies and when I thought that I was an ‘ajebutter’.

‘Bad’ by Michael Jackson-reminds me of watching tv in my primary school days, marveling at his talent.

‘You Can’t Touch This’ by MC Hammer-reminds me of my older brother’s 12th birthday party, where there was a lot of energetic and slightly violent dancing from us kids.

‘Back & Forth’ by Aaliyah-reminds me of my growing awareness and love for RnB music.

Aaliyah. photo: genius.com
Aaliyah. photo: genius.com

‘Mo Money,Mo Problems’ by Puff Daddy, Mase and The Notorious B.I.G-reminds me of social nights in secondary school, so much fun and awkwardness.

‘Breakdown’ by Mariah Carey feat, Bone, Thugs-n-Harmony: reminds me of watching Channel O for hours while waiting for my JAMB UME result to be released.

‘Let Me Love You’ by Mario-reminds me of relaxing after lectures during my undergraduate days.

‘See me so’ by Tuface Idibia-reminds me of NYSC camp in Gboko, where the song was played at the ‘mammy-market’ EVERY SINGLE DAY.

‘Never Forget You’ by The Noisettes-reminds me of feeling optimistic and starting my job search after completing my postgraduate dissertation.

‘The Only Girl in The World’ by Rihanna -reminds me of music playing on the radio during a temp job in England. It was winter and it was freezing in the building, and I had to wear my gloves indoors for most of the day.

‘Superstar’ by Ice Prince-reminds me of returning home and getting reacquainted with Nigerian music.

Day 11. #nablopomo

Leave a Reply

