Childhood Aspirations: Teaching.

When I was a child, I wanted to grow up to be a Teacher. This choice of career was not because I had a deep desire to impart knowledge. In Nigeria, Teachers at the time got to beat unruly children with a cane. Even as a child, the thought of wielding that sort of power was intoxicating.

photo: the-bookworm.net
Such a happy Teacher. photo: the-bookworm.net

A favourite pastime of mine was arranging my dolls in a make-believe classroom and talking to them sternly. I even had a register which I used to take the daily attendance of my doll-students.

Years later, I gained admission into the University to study Political Science and Education. Teaching Practice was therefore a mandatory part of the course, which was to be carried out at the end of my third year of studies.

It is because of my experience during Teaching Practice that I made the decision to follow the Political Science path and not Education when the time came to make a decision about postgraduate studies. The teaching aspect wasn’t the problem; I enjoyed the experience more than I thought I would (I taught Government to SS1 students). The decision was based on the realities experienced by the Teachers whom I met at my assigned School.

I was posted to a public school. A lot of the classes did not have windows or doors. When it rained, I would have to wait patiently for the students to sweep out the water from the flooded classroom before I could go in to teach them.  There was a general sense of dejection and indifference from the Teachers due to delayed salaries and poor infrastructure. Perhaps if I had been sent to a posh secondary school, my perception of teaching would have been different.

I admire Teachers; teaching is a career that is so necessary and yet often overlooked in it’s importance. If any Teacher out there needs someone to pull the ears of a naughty student, I am always available to lend a helping hand 🙂

Day 8 #nablopomo

4 Comments

  1. “I would have to wait patiently for the students to sweep out the water from the flooded classroom before I could go in to teach them.”

    That’s crazy!

    Are lots of schools built like that? How often does it rain that hard? And how come the water doesn’t just wash back in?

    Like

    1. It rains quite heavily in Nigeria, especially in that part of the country (Calabar). In that particular school, you climb up a set of stairs to get into the classrooms, so that’s why the water wouldn’t wash back in when it’s swept out 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

